Vikarabad MLA G Prasad Kumar has been elected as Speaker of the 3rd Telangana Assembly unanimously with the support of all MLAs across parties. He is the first Dalit Speaker of the Telangana Assembly.

Pro-Tem Speaker Akbaruddin Owaisi said only one nomination was filed for the post. His candidature was proposed by 23 members, including those from Bharat Rashtra Samithi (BRS), he said in the House here on Thursday.