Chief of All India Majlis-e-Ittehad-ul-Muslimeen (AIMIM), Asaduddin Owaisi, began his padayatra in Syed Nagar, Ahmed Nagar division of the Nampally constituency, with candidate Mohammed Majid Hussain.AIMIM will be contesting from nine constituencies, including the Jubilee Hills, where Congress has pinned its hopes on former cricketer Mohammed Azharuddin.

For this Assembly elections, AIMIM has made a major reshuffle; Jaffer Hussain Meraj, sitting MLA of Nampally, has been relocated, making way for another former mayor, Mohd Majid Hussain.